strawmom


Retrospect
June 26, 2011, 3:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I finished reading Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers last night. This is the second book I have read for the Tyndale Publishers Summer Reading program. Once you read five books and review them, you will receive a free book from the company.

I was uncomfortable with the way Marta treated her eldest daughter. I wished several things for their relationship, mainly that Marta be a different role model in certain ways. I read the discussion guide at the back of the book to collect my thoughts overnight. Proverbs 31:10-31 was referenced. This chapter of the Bible lists the virtues of a wife of noble character.

Marta has characteristics that are similar to those listed. She provides for her family, making sure that they are not taken for fools. This causes some contention between her and her husband. She second-guesses his decisions on more than one occasion. I can identify with this, having committed the same in my marriage. Sometimes a woman just knows things.

Marta is not overly warm to her daughter. At the end of the book, Marta realizes that she did put a distance between herself and her daughter. In a letter to a childhood friend, Marta writes that she will do what is necessary to win her daughter back. I see her standing up with a straight spine and heading off once she has taken care that those she will leave behind are taken care of.

As said, I did not care for the way Marta treated her eldest daughter. Looking at her behavior through the lens of Proverbs 31, I can see in retrospect that all she wished was to show her daughter the strength of a woman.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

