strawmom


Boxes
July 23, 2011, 7:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I read Ira Wager’s book “Growing Up Amish” for the Tyndale House Summer Reading Program.  I was rather indifferent to the booyk. I did not feel like I was able to get a good understanding of the community that Wager understood. But then I thought of the freedom  I have as an English. I was expected to leave the family home and carve out a life for myself. The Amish have a different world view. Wager likened this to living in a box. 

It can be easy to relate on a certain level. We hsve all felt some level of being trapped by life. Having the strength to leave that all behind without the chance to go back is not something I could do. Wager left his community four times. The last time he knew he would not see his family again.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

