strawmom


Bound by guilt
August 18, 2011, 10:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I want to be C.J. Darlington. Okay, maybe just meet her. I read Bound By Guilt, her second novel, recently. Ms. Darlington has worked in the bookselling business for over a decade, according to the back cover of the book. As I understand it, she seeks out first-editions of books. Imagine finding a first edition of Little Women or The Wizard of Oz. I would not complain about living in that world.

Roxi Gold is involved in this business as well, but she seeks out first editions to steal and then to sell to another bookseller. She does this with her mother’s cousin and her son. She accepts this life as it is. It may not be the most ethical of lives, but it beats foster homes.

Until that day.

Roxi needs to find a new life and she does. She is placed in a spot where she fits, where God needs her to be.

I loved this book. I wish Roxi had not been a book thief, but I wish I could have held a first edition of The Great Gatsby as she did. I wish I could discuss this book more, but I hate to ruin it for anyone. That is how much I liked it.

I said earlier h

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

