strawmom


Her Daughter’s Dream
August 22, 2011, 4:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I read Francine Rivers’ novel Her Daughter’s Dream. As much as I enjoyed the book, I was glad at first that I did not have a daughter. The four generations of women portrayed in the book repeated the mistakes her own mother had made. May Flower Dawn, the fourth generation, came to realize the holding pattern and urged her mother and grandmother to make peace. It was too late to include her great-grandmother in this reconciliation, as she had passed away.

I said earlier that I was glad I did not have a daughter, having read of the mistakes made over again by these women. I have thought more about it since then. As children, we can have trouble understanding what governs the behavior of our parents. That certainly happened in this novel.

I never knew my father’s parents, so I could understand the journey that needed to be taken at the end of the novel to understand the start of the family’s journey. I would not have the detailed information that Carolyn had as she researched her Oma’s hometown using letters that had been written to a long-time friend who remained in Europe.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

