strawmom


[W]hole review
June 22, 2012, 11:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I just read Lisa Whittle’s book “{W}hole. ”It was a refreshing look at what roles/holes do to draw us away from Jesus. Lisa chronicles different stages in her life where she drifted away from Jesus, whether intentionally or not. I loved this book as I was able to use the information provided and look at various points in my own life where I had drifted.

In the forward of the book, George Barna wrote that Lisa Whittle “is an unusual  Christian, one who is willing to let God determine the trajectory of her life and to work within the parameters He sets for her.” Throughout the book, Lisa Whittle gave examples, from her teenage years to when she was an adult, where she fell on her knees and prayed to God, asking him what to do next.

The one issue I had with this book has nothing to do with the subject matter, but with the fact that it was a library book. I was unable to grab a highlighter or a pen and mark the sections in the book that really grabbed my attention. In chapter one, the author wrote, “Holes in my religion, roles, and experiences had kept me from many things: effectiveness, peace, fulfilling my created purpose.”   In college, Lisa tried to balance her role as a pastor’s daughter with the rebellion of attending parties. She began a spiritual recovery, where she began to read the Bible. She became “increasingly open with the only One who knew of my hypocrisy.”  She began her journey to her created purpose.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

