strawmom


Almost Amish
July 12, 2012, 9:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I read Nancy Sleeth’s book Almost Amish. Before I get started with my review, I just want to say one thing. This is NOT a novel. I don’t know why the Family Christian stores have it labeled as such on their shelves. Apparently it is the number 5 best-seller in fiction. (Okay, I may have accosted the store employee about this. I tried to be as nice as I could.) Breathe in. Breathe out.

Okay, anyway. Ms. Sleeth wishes, as many of us, to live simpler lives away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Who better to emulate than the Amish? I had the feeling throughout the book, though, that Ms. Sleeth does want to live more simply, but without giving up modern conveniences. I don’t mean things like cars or the latest device. I know she is fond of her bread machine. I also realized that, while she likes the Amish lifestyle, she did not pack up her life and move to Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.

Ms. Sleeth divided her book into sections titled Finances, House, etc., and listed both the Amish and Almost Amish way of living under these ideas. Quite frankly, very few of us are going to give up all modern conveniences like electricity and take up wearing prayer kappes and driving buggies. But, we can live simpler lives and Ms. Sleeth gives good examples of steps that can be taken.

One good step is to declare a Sabbath from technology. Turn off the internet, cell phone, Blackberry, GPS for one day. Go outside. Take a walk. Spend time with your family. Cook a meal together. These are not new ideas, but they are good ones.

There were times when I did not like this book. I had to go back and reread those parts later. I tend to get my reading done after the kids have gone to bed, so sometimes after a long day, I mis-read something. I did from time to time feel that Ms. Sleeth was sitting on a bit of a high-horse. When I re-read the section, I did not feel as harsh towards her, but my feelings did not dissipate.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

