strawmom


Review of Forever Friday by Timothy Lewis
September 9, 2013, 3:56 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I had just finished reading The Wednesday Letters by Jason Wright when I received my free copy of Forever Friday from Waterbrook Multnomah Press. I assumed the two books would be very similar. And they were. And they weren’t, too. Both books had a married couple in which the husband writes a weekly letter/postcard to his wife.
Gabe and Pearl “Huck” Alexander don’t have children as the couple in The Wednesday Letters does. Their legacy has more to do with an outside presence. They share the influence of this presence with a close friend. She shares it in turn with her daughter. Her daughter shares it with the narrator of the book.

Adam is a recently divorced man who owns an estate-sale business. He discovers the postcards Gabe sent to Huck while attending the sale at the Alexander’s house. I liked this book, but it took a while to get into it. I am not sure where the problem lies. Perhaps after reading The Wednesday Letters, I thought I would encounter another story about strong family ties. That is not fair to this book. It was a good read, but I felt there was something lacking.

I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for writing a review. I was under no obligation to write a favorable review.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

